This is where I start to cry.

As stated on the website, the review of applications for College X starts on February 29th. I was told by a rep from College X that acceptance/rejection letters are sent out in March.

Amanda (a pal of mine who will likely be joining me at College X) just told me something that made my heart sink into the bottom of my stomach.

Her mom called the college and asked when acceptance letters go out. The lady said April.

April. April.

I’m definitely going to die by then. Yup, yup.

Okay, just so I make this clear: I’m sorry if I’m being a big emo about this whole getting-my-acceptance-letter thing but I think I’m not overreacting. Okay, maybe I am a little. But just hear me out: I had to take a year off from, well, life in general to deal with some medical issues. Now that the medical stuff finally seems to be over with, I can get on with my life and just be normal for once. And I hope to find that normalcy I so desire in college. I live in a very small town. None of my friends live around here. There’s very few businesses in the area so if I can get a part-time job, it won’t be until this summer.

So. For now, I don’t have a lot of other things to think about. I write in my blog(s). I scrapbook a little. I go on Facebook. I play The Sims.

And I wait, (im)patiently, for a my acceptance letter. This letter will allow me to finally get into a city, out of the boondocks and into a realm of the normal life that I have always wanted. So, it’s not just my ticket to journalism classes and a dorm.

It’s my ticket to freedom.

2 Responses to “This is where I start to cry.”

  1. Hang in there. I know that sucks. If it’s any conciliation I’m really digging the blog.

  2. […] worse than being at the brink of hearing from a school you applied to? Hearing that, in fact, you’re going to have to wait another month. [Kill Jill Goes To […]

Leave a Reply

