Recipe: The Jill Omelette

Listening To: Hugh Laurie – Mystery

I mentioned The Jill Omelette in my last post, I haven’t posted a recipe for a while and this one is so easy. So easy. Easy squeezy.

Keep in mind that The Jill Omelette is oddly similar to a Denver or Western-Style omelette… mostly because that’s what it is, except I substitute ham with bacon and ixnay on the onions. Although, really, omelettes are one of those things you can fill with whatever you like. But this is just how I make mine.

  • Ingredients
  • green pepper. I don’t use green pepper for anything so I keep mine in the freezer. That way, it lasts a lot longer. Otherwise, it only lasts a few days.
  • 1 large egg. A staple for most omelets.
  • grated cheese. This all depends on how much you like cheese. I usually put in around half a cup, but you can do as you like. It’s a free country.
  • cooked bacon. Again, it’s a matter of choice. I usually nuke 5 or 6 pieces of bacon in the micro.
  • 2 slices of bread. I use white bread but feel free to use whole wheat. I’ve never tried it myself but it might taste alright.
  • butter/margarine. For the bread.
  • salt (optional). If I’m going without bacon, I add some salt. Whatevs.
  1. Cook your bacon however you like it: frying pan or microwave. I usually microwave mine. But keep an eye on it because it can go from uncooked to burnt in about 30 seconds. Then your microwave stinks for about 2 days.
  2. Cut a chunk off your green pepper and put it in a dish. I personally like only a small piece and I usually mince it but you can cut it into small chunks if you prefer. I find that too much green pepper overwhelms the taste of the other ingredients though.
  3. Add the grated cheese to the same dish.
  4. Crumble the bacon into the dish with the cheese and green pepper.
  5. Mix ingredients. (Add salt here, if you wish and mix some more.)
  6. Spray frying pan with non-stick spray. This is important- because scraping egg off of a frying pan is a pain.
  7. Pre-heat burner to medium heat. (I do this later in the game because it’s quite easy to burn an omelette, I find.)
  8. Pour contents of dish into frying pan.
  9. Now would be a good time to toast your 2 slices of bread.
  10. Cook on one side until golden brown on both sides. Flip omelette over with plastic flipper. (I usually poke holes in the omelette to help it cook all the way through… because a runny egg is just gross and will make you sick.)
  11. Butter your toast with butter or margarine.
  12. Once omelette is finished, place it between your two pieces of toast.
  13. Put all dirty dishes in sink for roommate to wash. Turn off burner on stove.
  14. Enjoy!!
One Response to “Recipe: The Jill Omelette”

  1. […] after posting the recipe for The Jill Omelette, I was in the mood for some more recipe blogging. (Come to think of it, I was also in the mood for […]

Leave a Reply

