CONTEST: Unique Storage Ideas!

College Countdown: 72 days

Hey gang! I need your help! I just found out that the bed in my dorm room sits on the floor so I won’t be able to store anything underneath! I have a small closet to myself and dresser with 3 or 4 drawers. I’m also bringing a shelf from home for my DVDs and books. I will also have a desk which my laptop will be on. I’m not sure if there are any drawers or shelves in it though.

So, I need some ideas for alternative storage. Please respond to this entry with your idea. I’ll link anybody who responds on follow-up entries but the person who comes up with the most original idea gets permanently linked on the blog. (I’m saving for college so I can’t really offer anything else.)

Here are the guidelines:

  1. Don’t bother telling me to put my bed on cinder blocks, as it is prohibited in my dorm.
  2. We’re allowed to put sticky tack on the walls but no tacks, tape or nails.
  3. As far as I know, I don’t think we’re allowed to hang anything from the ceiling or on the door.
  4. Please include your name, email and web address when you submit an idea. (If you don’t have a website but win the contest, I’ll post your name under “Contest Winners”.)
  5. Each participant can submit up to three ideas each.
2 Responses to “CONTEST: Unique Storage Ideas!”

  1. If you aren’t allowed to purchase a loft for your bed, the best option is to buy riser blocks from somewhere like Target, Wal-Mart, or BB&B. They are the immediate alternative to actual cinder blocks.

    Also, collapsible hanging shelves for inside your closet are a good idea for storing sweaters and light jackets.

    I have other ideas but those were three that came to mind right off. (1) lofting (2) riser blocks — not cinder blocks, so they should be allowed (3) hanging closet shelves.

    HTH!

  2. […] Check out the contest that is currently running! Click here for more details! […]

Leave a Reply

