Motivational speakers are stupid.

Jakalope – Pretty Life

Or, at least some are. I even wonder if they believe half of the crap they spew.

The only motivational speaker I’ve ever been a fan of was Joy Nash. And that’s because she’s both inspirational and realistic. And not cheesy like the douche bag we College X students were just forced to listen to.

I went to class for about 20 minutes before being herded down a long hall like cattle. Then, we were handed a t-shirt with the College X logo on the back. My t-shirt is a bright (i.e. ugly) neon orange color. Truly heinous. Than this motivational speaker has us do jumping jacks to get ourselves “feeling good”.

Motivational Speaker: “So, how is everyone feeling now??”
Me (quietly and to the side so only my friend could hear): “Stupid.”

This is a very, very ugly t-shirt.

They discussed sports and student government and stuff like that. They mentioned needing editors and photographers for the college yearbook. I’m definitely getting involved in that. Sports aren’t really my thing but I do want to get involved in something. This school also gives the students a chance to start a club on their own. Ellen and I briefly talked about starting a Drama Club but she said that this Journalism program keeps you pretty busy. So, maybe I’ll think about it for next year.

There’s a BBQ this afternoon for students but I’m not going. And then there’s a scavenger hunt throughout this city but I don’t know anybody who is going to that. I’m probably going to Movie Night tonight and then maybe the dodgeball tournament tomorrow. There is a student social tomorrow night and I think I’ll go to that. Amanda and Gen are meeting some other Paramedicine students at a pub and they want me to go with them… but I really have to meet some more friends. Seriously. I can’t always be depending on them. Besides, they’ve got all these friends from their class that I don’t know and… gah.

Why must I always be so anti-social?

As for the people in my Journalism class… there’s a couple cool people. The only person I’ve spent any time talking to is Jenn. She’s the only other first year Journalism student in Residence X so we walk to class together, walk back at lunch together, sit together, etc. We don’t really hang out together in the res though. Maybe we will more when it comes to do assignments and studying and whatnot.

Other than that, I’ve talked to a couple other classmates but nothing in-depth. There are a couple potentially cool people… but the guy-girl ratio is a little alarming. (In a class of 16, there are maybe 5 guys; one of which is an exchange student and will be leaving around Christmas.) As for the girls, there seems to be quite a few skinny prep types in my class. I was expecting maybe a few more artsy-fartsy types…

All and all, my college experience is feeling a little bit too high school for my taste. I’m too old for that crap. I just want to start my program, do some writing, learn some stuff and make myself look like the most impressive person in my class. (High school is for “looking cool”. College is for preparing for your future, making connections in the business and being professional. And that’s what I plan to do.)

2 Responses to “Motivational speakers are stupid.”

  1. Miss Lissy Says:

    Lol, you should know that color of orange reminds me of a prison uniform.

    Which maybe it is.

  2. “All and all, my college experience is feeling a little bit too high school for my taste. (High school is for “looking cool”. College is for preparing for your future, making connections in the business and being professional. And that’s what I plan to do.)”

    Haha. I think college is still basically trying to “look cool” considering that the mantras everyone drills into your head are “It’s not what you know but who you know.” and “Network, network, network!”

    Trying to impress people to make connections = “looking cool.” For sure.

    Along the way, your future may be made a wee bit more concrete. But as it turns out, you could graduate with a specialized degree and then…become a bus driver or something. ::shrugs::

Leave a Reply

