Homesickness: How To Deal

Honestly, I haven’t felt homesick once since moving to City X. It’s weird. I haven’t even missed my mom that much- until tonight. I dunno, it was weird. I was surrounded by friends and we were all laughing and having a good time (it was during our Halloween party, actually) and suddenly I felt this overwhelming urge to call Mom, just to hear her voice. I suddenly felt like crying and I wanted to just buy a bus ticket and go home.

Photo by nyki_m.

Photo by nyki_m.

Anyway, I looked into it and here are some basic ways to deal with homesickness. I hope they work for me and I hope they work for you, too.

  • Keep a journal.
  • Keep busy. Get involved with a school activity. Play on a sports team. Catch up on a hobby. Or, since you’re in college and all… you could always study.
  • Avoid plastering your walls with photos of family and friends. Having too many photos might make you miss the people more.
  • Make your dorm room (or, in some cases, your half of the dorm room) as homey as possible. If you don’t feel at home in the place that’s supposed to be your new home, you’ll likely miss your old home more.
  • If you’re feeling a little lonely, avoid looking at old yearbooks. This will only make it worse.

For more help with homesickness, check out this article at Buzzle.com or this article at About.com (College Life section).

2 Responses to “Homesickness: How To Deal”

  1. Hey Jill. Good post. I think everyone gets a little homesick every once and a while. Even though I’ve been living away from home for almost 10 years now, I actually still get homesick. One of the things I do is to make sure I have something planned that I can be excited about when I know I’ll get homesick. For instance, when I spent my first Thanksgiving away from home, I knew I’d be sad, so I planned to go skiing with a friend. Because it was a totally different experience, I was much less homesick. But then when I attempted to plan a Thanksgiving that was just like the ones I had as a kid — I got really homesick. It’s important to start your own traditions and stay busy during those tough times like holidays.

  2. I love this post. I got so homesick, I actually went home just to sit around and look stupid. It’s been a year, and now it’s time to go back and resume life…especially since I left the stove on! lol

Leave a Reply

