Lent (And What It Means To Me)

Florence and The MachineKiss With A Fist

It’s days like these that I’m thankful to be agnostic. (Not sure what that means? That’s why God invented Wikipedia, my friend.) (Screw it. Just click here.) I wasn’t always a heathen though. I went to Sunday school when I was a little kid (mostly because my mom was a Sunday school teacher) and I was once a Christian. But as I matured, I developed an uncertainty about organized religion. So, I settled on agnosticm, rather than full-on atheism.

That’s not to say that I’m anti-religion. On the contrary, I find religious customs interesting. I find the differences between different areas of Christianity especially interesting. I totally respect religious people and their dedication to something they have a true and honest spiritual connection with.

My Catholic friends tell me Lent began today. Three of my closest friends (including Roomie and Jaclyn) had ashes on their forehead today. Roomie and our friend Caitlin are fasting today, too. Roomie has decided to give up texting for Lent while Jaclyn is giving up fast food. Even though I’m not Catholic or religious, I’ve decided to take part in Lent as well and avoid any and all tobacco products. (I’ve never smoked a day in my life, so it shouldn’t be a difficult thing to stay away from.)

Speaking of texting, I’m getting a cell phone tomorrow- and a Nintendo DS! Go me! 😀 (My bank account isn’t going to thank me after this week.)

* * * * *

In other news, Arrested Development fans are giddy these days as awkwardly adorable Michael Cera has signed on to do the upcoming AR movie, based on the cult sitcom. The show ran for three seasons and won truckloads of awards and featured some of the greatest comedians of our time- but nobody watched it. (I admit, I didn’t watch the show until it was over. And now I own season 1 on DVD and make references to it regularly.) The film is currently expected to be released sometime in 2010.

Leave a Reply

