Internship Diary: Day XX

Photo by Yashima.

Photo by Yashima.

(Psst! Don’t miss your chance to win some free, personalized business cards on our new contest! Check it out, yo!!)

Today was my last day. There is no more. Well, until my internship next year, that is.

…And yes. I had some wine tonight… with the woman who owns the B&B I’m staying at. She invited me to dinner and we had some wine and now I’m all warm and sleepy.

Very sleepy, actually. Phew.

Mister Editor Man gave me my end-of-internship review and it was all very positive. I exceeded his expectations, he thinks I’m very talented and the only reason he’s not offering me a summer job is because I don’t have my driver’s license. I told him I completely understood.

Despite working in a newsroom not being my dream job (by a long-shot), I really did learn a lot. And if I’m ever desperate, I can try take that route, even though the number of jobs in the business is painfully limited.

I’m really happy with most of the stories I wrote. Mister Editor Man gave me mostly fluffy people stories, which I really enjoy doing. I pitched a couple story ideas, followed up on them and did them to the best of my ability. And I’m proud of that.

Am I going to miss Town X? Heck, no. (I dig culture. Yo.) Am I looking forward to getting back to City X? Heck, yes. But more than that, I’m pretty excited about going back to the boondocks for a while, as crazy as that sounds. I miss my mom. I miss having free time. I miss being able to blog for hours at a time and actually respond to comments.

I don’t particularly miss working at the convenience store but that’s where I’ll be this summer. Who knows, maybe I’ll write a follow-up to 20 Rules For The Convenience Store. I guess we’ll see.

I definitely plan on working on my new music site, blogging here and there, maybe do some guest blogging if any opportunities come up and (definitely) updating Kill Jill a lot more often than I have been. My baby has been neglected and now I must save it before Family Services comes and takes it away from me.

Wow. I really shouldn’t drink and blog. It’s bad for the Internet.

Leave a Reply

