10 Tips For Moving OUT of the Dorm

You’ve drank you last beer (or, in my case, margarita and glass of wine) and you’ve said your goodbyes. Summer is here, classes are over and it’s time to head back to wherever you call “home.” But packing up your stuff and getting it there can be a pain. Here are some tips to make the task a bit easier.

Photo by Dave Kleinschmidt

Photo by Dave Kleinschmidt

  1. If possible, move out in a couple parts. If your campus is close enough to home, pack up a couple boxes a couple months before the end of semester. (I realize this doesn’t help if you’re moving out now and could have used that advice months ago… but you should have planned ahead. I’m not always going to be here to hold your and guide the way, OK?!) …Now, where were we? Oh, yes.
  2. Consider renting a local storage unit. If you’re coming back in the fall, a storage unit can be handy for the items you won’t be using over the summer and probably don’t have room for anyway. (And yes, your little sister will mind if you store your futon in her bedroom, even if it’s “only for a couple months”.) If this seems far too expensive, try to share a space with a friend who also plans to return in the fall.
  3. Be very, very, very nice to the buff guy down the hall. Again, this advice could have been helpful months ago. But having a butt-load of friends who will help you lug your junk downstairs is often handy. (All of my friends have already flown the coop. Thankfully, I’m on the first floor and next to the entrance. Ha!)
  4. Be very, very, very nice to local-living friends, particularly ones with basements. Sometimes, you might have a couple boxes of stuff you don’t want to take home. It’s not enough to bother renting a storage space. If you have a pal who resides with their parents (suckers!), exchange some basement space for a pizza or a movie rental on you.
  5. Pack breakables carefully so they’ll make it home. I plan on using a combination of grocery bags I’ve been collecting all year and paper towel to wrap my breakables in. My plates, my glass cups, ceramic bowl and of course, my action figure collection.
  6. Beg for boxes or buy some bins? Tomorrow, after I get my hair cut, I plan on stopping at several stores and begging for small cardboard boxes that I can use for packing. I’ve never had to do this before and I’m really not looking forward it. In hindsight, I probably should have purchased some large storage bins like my clever roommate did. But smaller boxes have their advantages too- they can be squeezed into small empty spaces in a packed truck much easier than a large storage bin. But take your pick.
  7. Throw out as much as possible. Just like when you thought twice about bringing particular items with you when you moved into the dorm, consider what you want to take out of it.
  8. Don’t invite the whole family. If a family member is coming to pick you and your stuff up from college, make sure only 1 or 2 people come. You’ll likely need the space.
  9. Rent a moving van. Sometimes, the deed must done. I’m no expert on this, so check out this article at eHow.
  10. And remember… Lift with your legs, not your back. (Click here for more info on lifting heavy stuff safely.)

(Want to win some business cards or some brochures for your business or services? Check out this Kill Jill contest! Enter now- it’s free!)

9 Responses to “10 Tips For Moving OUT of the Dorm”

  1. […] 10 tips for moving out of the dorm at Kill Jill Goes to College […]

  2. […] 10 tips for moving out of the dorm at Kill Jill Goes to College […]

  3. shanshanigans Says:

    I struck it lucky… uncle with a garage and a former-boyfriend-now-friend who is amazing and let me keep stuff in his basement.

    But no matter how prepared you are, moving out of a dorm is always a pain in the butt.

    http://shanshanigans.wordpress.com/

  4. Whoa, mad flattered that you found/used my photo. For the record, the random shit belonged to my roommate; mine was already gone.

  5. The genius of Flickr made it possible.
    Just curious- how’d you find my blog anyway?

  6. Soooo long ago that I moved out of college accommodation. Borrowed a small van from a friend and packed it to the last inch. Didn’t throw away nearly enough stuff… Wish I’d had your advice then. Cheers.

  7. steel storage bins are the best thing to use. they last very long and is recyclable too ..

  8. i always frequent movie rentals because i am a movie addict and i watch so many movies at one time “:*

  9. I simply wanted to construct a small message to appreciate you for those magnificent points you are showing on this website. My extended internet lookup has at the end been recognized with really good details to share with my friends and classmates. I would admit that most of us visitors actually are unequivocally endowed to live in a good place with many special individuals with helpful methods. I feel very grateful to have seen your web page and look forward to really more fun times reading here. Thank you once again for all the details.

Leave a Reply

