MTV’s “College Life” Interview: Andrea

I got the opportunity to interview the stars of MTV’s new reality series, College Life, which airs on Mondays at 10:30 ET.

collegelife_andrea

Here’s what Andrea had to say.

1. Tell our readers a little bit about MTV’s “College Life”.
College Life is a close up view of different freshman’s stories at Wisconsin. I think it shows a realistic, soap-opera depiction of the ups and downs college students deal with, which allows people-at any age-to relate, sympathize, laugh at, and even learn from our successes and mistakes.

2. How did you get involved with the show?
Through a friend e-mailing me and telling me to audition for the show. Totally random and unexpected when I received a call 3 days later telling me I was chosen.

3. Do you think “College Life” will show a realistic representation of college life?
You know, yes and no…Yes in that EVERYTHING that happens on the show is our own footage and our own “college experiences” and therefore it is totally real, but being that it is a television drama I think it is safe to say that the moments MTV uses are definitely the ones that make for interesting TV. In reality, there are those dramatic moments in everyone’s lives, but that is mixed with the hours of studying and just hanging out with friends. However, those moments are not focused on as much simply because those are the home video type moments that people would probably get bored with very quickly.

4. What do you think college-age viewers will think of the show? What will they learn from it?
I think that they will see part of themselves in some of the decisions we have to make and issues we have to face. I think they may laugh and make fun of us, but everyone has been a freshman! I think it’s really fun to be able to remember this year of my life because I think freshman year is a year full of so much growth and learning.

5. How do you think “College Life” compares with shows like “The Real World” and “The Hills”?
I think it is hard to compare simply because of how totally revolutionary it is. It is completely different in that there is no camera crew and it is a college setting. It is not filmed with hidden cameras in a house full of random people, and we don’t have perfect lighting and hair stylists…we are just being us and filming whatever and whenever we can.

Leave a Reply

