Kill Jill’s Awesome Thing Of The Week: SYTYCD

To be quite honest, I really do dislike American Idol. It’s nothing personal against any of the musicians themselves. Most of them are ridiculously talented and I could never even dream of having their abilities. I just don’t enjoy the show. Maybe it’s my deep respect for music. I don’t know.

But the Beatles cover night is probably the most painful thing I’ve ever seen- and I could only stand to watch 10 minutes of that episode one time. It was unbearable. John Lennon would likely turn in his grave if he knew his masterpieces were helping to fuel such a money-making, commercial-filled, music-mocking machine that is Idol.

Despite this, the producers of Idol also produce one of my very favorite shows: So You Think You Can Dance.

I can dance about as well as I can sing. Actually, no. That’s a lie. I’m probably much, much worse at dancing than almost anything. Really, it’s honestly tragic. But I digress. Despite my lack of knowledge or skill, I enjoy So You Think You Can Dance to an unhealthy degree.

Dance aired its first results show last night and a male and female dancer were both eliminated from the competition. The talents these young dancers have is unbelievable. Besides the crappy musical guests that frequent the results shows (and the several crappy musical guests that appear on the finale every year), I truly enjoy this show.

It’s not too late to tune in for the season. The dancers seem even more talented this year. Even if you haven’t watched it before, just check it out and give it a watch. (And try not to let Mary Murphy‘s obnoxiousness deter you. The Mute button on your remote comes in handy when she starts screaming, I will say that much.)

Leave a Reply

