Kill Jill’s Awesome Thing Of The Week: Film Snobbery

I’m trying to be more of a film snob these days. Instead of just my usual comedies (romantic comedies, buddy comedies, gross-out comedies, etc… Oh, by the way, The Hangover was epic!!), I’m trying to branch out and watch more “critically acclaimed” films.

(Yes. There are movies and then there are films. There’s a difference. Apparently.)

doubt_584

This is a still from Doubt, starring Meryl Streep, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Amy Adams.

Recently, I’ve watched:

  • Sideways
  • Ed Wood
  • Capote
  • Lars and the Real Girl
  • Fido
  • Doubt

Tonight I plan on watching Requiem for a Dream which I’ve heard is a pretty intense film. But I have a lot of catching up to do on the whole film snobbery thing. I think now is a good time for me to start this film snobbery goal because I’m old enough and mature enough to understand a lot of things, versus when I was 18 or 19.

So. Does anyone have any movie suggestions? I’m looking for movies that were nominated for a butt-load of awards in the year they were released. I’m open to both dramas and artfully-done comedies.

One Response to “Kill Jill’s Awesome Thing Of The Week: Film Snobbery”

  1. agentjade Says:

    That’s what I have been doing lately too!
    Here are some movies I recommend; they are more like independent films with interesting/quirky characters and themes.

    Chungking Express by Wong Kar Wai (Mandarin with English subtitles)
    Saving Face by Alice Wu (In both English and Mandarin)

    Frida is quite good too, if you are into biopics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

