Post-Internship Blab

So. There you have it. My four weeks of my second news office internship are officially over. I’m sitting on my bed, listening to some old-school Coldplay, replaying the experience in my head.

And, in addition, I turn 22 tomorrow.

Overall, it was a very positive experience. Everyone I talked to in Community X was suspiciously pleasant and willing to help me out. My co-workers were all very nice. I can see myself missing them sooner, rather than later. (But I can’t miss them too soon, because I’m dropping in tomorrow to pick up a few copies of this week’s newspaper.)

I learned several things while on this internship. Here are a few:

  • French vanilla cappuccino is delicious. In fact, I think I’ve become an addict since my editor bought me one nearly every day.
  • Any newspaper that will allow an intern to write a weekly column is either awesome or very stupid. Maybe both. But I enjoyed having that opportunity anyway.
  • Covering the death of a 20-something-year-old is really tough. Having a friend who knows the victim makes it much, much harder. Above is a photo from that event.
  • On the other hand, talking to a police officer about a non-fatal hit-and-run first thing in the morning is a piece of cake after you’ve done a story about someone who died.
  • Weekly newspapers are awesome. They allow for flexibility and more creativity in the actual writing process. I really enjoyed having that freedom. (Now. If only more weekly newspapers would move to City X. Then we’d be all set.)
  • Weekly newspapers are very different from a daily. I only felt stressed once in four weeks- and that’s only because I scheduled my interviews too close together, all in one. Stupid me.
  • One must always double-check the spelling of a name. This seems like it would be obvious. Mostly because it is. I’d never done that before last week. But the world didn’t end. I sent him an apology email before I got a chance to read the article. Thankfully, he was a sweetheart. I realize some people would’ve been an a-hole about it, but not this guy. Phew.
  • Give yourself plenty of time. I rushed to an interview one morning. I didn’t realize our meeting place was at the top of a hill. I was literally dripping in sweat while doing an interview. And, of course, he was fairly hot. (Dammit.)
  • I could never work in a town where I didn’t have any friends. Socially, I’m fairly odd. I don’t know how to meet people outside of work and school. I met up with a couple of friends from high school while in Community X but, generally, I was lonely for four weeks. I felt like I was missing so much, back in City X. My friends always sound like they were having so much fun together, without me.

But I’ll be back in City X on Saturday and I’m having a combination birthday thing with some friends that night. We’re all suiting up. Should be a laugh.

In other news…

  • We have a new puppy! ๐Ÿ˜€ Her name is Jessie and she’s about 12 weeks old. She’s a feisty monster who likes to chew on my hair, nose, ears, fingers and toes- but I love her to pieces.
  • Jenn has found us a house to rent for the summer and the following school year. It’s gorgeous! And the rent is very reasonable. And that means I’ll be staying in City X for the summer for the first time, having a full-time job for the first time (excluding unpaid internships) and having my first rent-type situation. (I’m really looking forward to moving out of Residence X though.) So, that should lead to some adventures, problems… and plenty of blog post material.

See? Kill Jill will live on. Go figure.

One Response to “Post-Internship Blab”

  1. hey jill, i love your blog, just wanted to say that you write really well; i’m jealous ๐Ÿ™‚

    just curious, how did you get your internship? i’m a journalism major too at CU Boulder but everyone I’ve talked to here seems to have had a real shitty experience very unlike yours. I’ve used sites like beyondcredentials.com; they are really great but i’m longing to work with a newspaper/reporting team of some sort. Advice please?

    I’m also a really new blogger and have just started up my blog – http://www.initiative180.com. I’m really trying hard to get my dream internship at NYTimes; do you think having a blog gives you an advantage?

    Thanks for reading this, have a great day,
    Steph Lee

Leave a Reply

