I’m suddenly an arts student!

So, I’m about two weeks into the Interactive Multimedia at College X. Loving it so far, despite the amount of homework it comes with. Learning a lot about design and digital creativity every day.

But it’s tough- going to school, keeping up with school work, working 20 hours a week and trying to have some sort of a life. I go down to 16 hours per week the week after next, so hopefully things will get a little easier.

My class is very, very small. We’re down to 7. And I like it that way. And I can honestly say I like everyone in it. (We had a guy quit. He was less than pleasant. But everyone else is just dandy.)

Here’s my new schedule:

  • Monday: Visual Design
  • Tuesday: Project Management/Multimedia Presentation
  • Wednesday: Web Design
  • Thursday: Audio/Video Production
  • Friday: Flash Design

That’s right, kids. I’m the artsy fartsy student I’ve always wanted to be, not-so-secretly. So, things are pretty chill so far. And my instructor is a very cool chicky who really knows her stuff. I’ll be interested to see where I’m at in a few months.

I’ve been working on a list of goals as of late. The following goals are for this semester (unless stated otherwise).

  1. I will drink more water (and less vodka).
  2. I will keep my part-time job (or stop paying rent).
  3. I will go to bed at a decent hour.
  4. I will apply for at least 12 bursaries/scholarships.
  5. I will leave for school before 8:50am and, therefore, not be late for class.
  6. I will continue working on my novel, and not use lame excuses in order to put it off.
  7. I will continue painting, and not use lame excuses in order to put it off.
  8. I will save cash for Christmas gifts.
  9. I will save enough cash to purchase a 15-inch display Macbook Pro and some design software at the end of the school year.
  10. I will not be impulsive with any purchases over $25.
Leave a Reply

